Villa Rossi with the Historical Park
The urban complex of the villa and the estate of Alexander Rossi in Santorso, now in co-ownership of the municipalities of Schio and Santorso, is a unique episode in the history of Venetian architecture of the late nineteenth century, the result of a collaboration between the industrial power of Schio, Alessandro Rossi, and the architect from Vicenza, Antonio Caregaro Negrin. On March 28, 1865, the Rossi family bought from the family of Prosdocimi the ancient villa of Bonifacio-Velo di Santorso with the adjoining church of Santo Spirito, and most of the surrounding land to create an oasis of peace for the family.
When Caregaro Negrin was assigned the task of restructuring the ancient villa to transform it into a luxurious residence for the large family of Alessandro Rossi, it was in a state of complete abandonment. The artist from Vicenza expanded the main part, adding two wings, one of which is raised to a level relative to the entire building, thereby framing the bright prospect of the central corpus in modern architectural forms. Caregaro-Negrin with extreme ease incorporated the elements of the classical tradition along with those of the nineteenth century.